#5Books: Book recs

It’s been a long week, and I think everyone at the office had enough by Thursday afternoon. Friday was a blur, don’t even ask me what I did that day. Ever have weeks like that?

See how exciting my week was? Bc that’s all I got lol

Oh, I forgot — we’re having a end of year theme party in Dec, and the theme of it is: once Upon a time. I am considering going as Leia (as she’s a Disney Princess now) or Maleficent — bc black wings! And that’s about all really. Any other low-cost, fun ideas for a costume party noob?

Tell me something fun that happened this past week?

Kiss the Girls and Make them Cry

An electrifying new thriller from “Queen of Suspense” Mary Higgins Clark!

When investigative journalist Gina Kane receives an email from a “CRyan” describing her “terrible experience” while working at REL, a high-profile television news network, including the comment “and I’m not the only one,” Gina knows she has to pursue the story. But when Ryan goes silent, Gina is shocked to discover the young woman has died tragically in a Jet Ski accident while on holiday.

Meanwhile, REL counsel Michael Carter finds himself in a tricky spot. Several female employees have come forward with allegations of sexual misconduct. Carter approaches the CEO, offering to persuade the victims to accept settlements in exchange for their silence. It’s a risky endeavor, but it could well make him rich.

As more allegations emerge and the company’s IPO draws near, Carter’s attempts to keep the story from making headlines are matched only by Gina Kane’s determination to uncover the truth. Was Ryan’s death truly an accident? And when another accuser turns up dead, Gina realizes someone—or some people—will go to depraved lengths to keep the story from seeing the light.

News broke on Friday about an actress that confronted Harvey Weinstein who was at an event run by performers and she was the one kicked out. Stories like this will always need to be told, whatever the outcome of this book.  And now heading back to the book —  I want to see Kane versus Carter and to see who comes out as the winner in the end. They sound like equally formidable characters, and reading them battling each other is bound to be fun!

36 Righteous Men

New York homicide detectives pursue a serial killer in this apocalyptic thriller.

When detectives James Manning and Covina “Dewey” Duwai are called in to investigate a series of bizarre murders, they make a shocking discovery: the legend of the hidden righteous ones, the 36 who preserve the world from destruction, is no legend at all. They are real, and they are being murdered.

As the bodies pile up and the world tilts into chaos, Manning and Dewey must protect the righteous ones from a ruthless killer able to beguile his victims and command them against their will. The detectives find their traditional arsenal of bullets and blades of little use against a foe who seems to anticipate their every move.

Joining forces with a disgraced but brilliant rabbinical scholar and a renowned anthropologist—who’s also the last of the righteous ones—Manning and Dewey set off on a perilous quest from New York to Gehenna to defeat a murderer who won’t stop until he’s killed everyone.

Absolutely everything about this blurb is fascinating. I will admit apocalyptic thriller gives me the same sort of pause that dystopian thriller does (and I can’t do dystopian thrillers, I tried), but the rest of it sounds original, and totally thrilling.

Guilty

A gripping and suspenseful psychological thriller that Booklist calls “intriguing from start to finish,” perfect for fans of New York Times bestselling authors Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn.

It begins with a phone call. It ends with a missing child.

On a warm summer’s morning, thirteen-year-old school girl Constance Lawson is reported missing. A few days later, Constance’s uncle, Karl Lawson, suddenly finds himself swept up in a media frenzy created by journalist Amanda Bowe implying that he is the prime suspect.

Six years later …

Karl’s life is in ruins. His marriage is over, his family destroyed. But the woman who took everything away from him is thriving. With a successful career, husband and a gorgeous baby boy, Amanda’s world is complete. Until the day she receives a phone call and in a heartbeat, she is plunged into every mother’s worst nightmare.

That Amanda implied Karl was the prime suspect immediately made me feel sympathetic towards him, but by the end, I wondered about myself because I was still kinda on Karl’s side. Also — it also brought home just how jaded I am, because the other part of me wondered: just who took the kid, because Karl is just too easy an answer. And Amanda’s MO as a journalist is one that can make her many, many enemies…

The Future of Another Timeline

From Annalee Newitz, founding editor of io9, comes a story of time travel, murder, and the lengths we’ll go to protect the ones we love.

1992: After a confrontation at a riot grrl concert, seventeen-year-old Beth finds herself in a car with her friend’s abusive boyfriend dead in the backseat, agreeing to help her friends hide the body. This murder sets Beth and her friends on a path of escalating violence and vengeance as they realize many other young women in the world need protecting too.

2022: Determined to use time travel to create a safer future, Tess has dedicated her life to visiting key moments in history and fighting for change. But rewriting the timeline isn’t as simple as editing one person or event. And just when Tess believes she’s found a way to make an edit that actually sticks, she encounters a group of dangerous travelers bent on stopping her at any cost.

Tess and Beth’s lives intertwine as war breaks out across the timeline–a war that threatens to destroy time travel and leave only a small group of elites with the power to shape the past, present, and future. Against the vast and intricate forces of history and humanity, is it possible for a single person’s actions to echo throughout the timeline?

Two very different timelines and two very different women, as well as a murder — how good does this sound?! And who are the dangerous travelers determined to stop Tess? 

Platform 7

Platform Seven at 4am: Peterborough Railway Station is deserted. The man crossing the covered walkway on this freezing November morning is confident he’s alone. As he sits on the metal bench at the far end of the platform it is clear his choice is strategic – he’s as far away from the night staff as he can get.
What the man doesn’t realise is that he has company. Lisa Evans knows what he has decided. She knows what he is about to do as she tries and fails to stop him walking to the platform edge.

Two deaths on Platform Seven. Two fatalities in eighteen months – surely they’re connected?

No one is more desperate to understand what connects them than Lisa Evans herself. After all, she was the first of the two to die.

First, the creepy cover, and then that last line smacked me across the face and I thought: What. The. Hell. 

And that’s all she wrote this week! What are you waiting on this week?

14 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.