#5Books: Book recs and higher, faster, further baby!

Yes, I watched Captain Marvel and it was glorious!

Have you been yet? What did you think?

Here are some thoughts I had while watching, as spoiler free as I can make it:

  • Carol had fun with her powers. Has fun with her powers. Those moments are few and far inbetween in the other movies I’ve seen in the MCU, but Carol revels in them. There’s something to be said about a woman embracing her power, and enjoying it, but that’s a discussion that will include spoilers.
  • Goose and Nick Fury need their own movie, with Coulson as their sidekick.
  • Talos sounded like he belonged on a beach in Australia, which I will never get over.
  • Carol is going to kick so many asses as an Avenger, and I will never be tired of that.
  • The only reunion I want to see is her and Nick now in Endgame, followed by Tony and Pepper.
  • And the thought that Nick (technically the pronunciation) and Carol kind of named each other in this movie gives me the warm fuzzies.

So yes, go watch because Captain Marvel is so worth it. SO worth it!

And now on to our regularly scheduled book recs.

The Mother-in-Law

Someone once told me that you have two families in your life – the one you are born into and the one you choose. Yes, you may get to choose your partner, but you don’t choose your mother-in-law. The cackling mercenaries of fate determine it all.

From the moment Lucy met Diana, she was kept at arm’s length. Diana is exquisitely polite, but Lucy knows, even after marrying Oliver, that they’ll never have the closeness she’d been hoping for.

But who could fault Diana? She was a pillar of the community, an advocate for social justice, the matriarch of a loving family. Lucy had wanted so much to please her new mother-in-law.

That was ten years ago. Now, Diana has been found dead, leaving a suicide note. But the autopsy reveals evidence of suffocation. And everyone in the family is hiding something…

From the bestselling author of The Family Next Door comes a new page-turner about that trickiest of relationships

I feel like the title is so incredibly ominous, but really, that’s me projecting all the tales I’ve heard over my lifetime about how mothers-in-law will only ever be on their son’s side, and never the woman their sons marry. The blurb’s focus on Lucy is misleading because in the last line, there’s a mention of everyone hiding something — does that mean Lucy has never realised the family she’s married into? Is she going to be in danger?

Before She Was Found

A gripping thriller about three young girlfriends, a dark obsession and a chilling crime that shakes up a quiet Iowa town, from the New York Times bestselling author of The Weight of Silence .

For twelve-year-old Cora Landry and her friends Violet and Jordyn, it was supposed to be an ordinary sleepover–movies and Ouija and talking about boys. But when they decide to sneak out to go to the abandoned rail yard on the outskirts of town, little do they know that their innocent games will have dangerous consequences.

Later that night, Cora Landry is discovered on the tracks, bloody and clinging to life, her friends nowhere to be found. Soon their small rural town is thrust into a maelstrom. Who would want to hurt a young girl like Cora–and why? In an investigation that leaves no stone unturned, everyone is a suspect and no one can be trusted–not even those closest to Cora.

Before She Was Found is a timely and gripping thriller about friendship and betrayal, about the power of social pressure and the price of needing to fit in. It is about the great lengths a parent will go to protect their child and keep them safe–even if that means burying the truth, no matter the cost.

Whenever I read that characters like this sneak out to abandoned trainyards and the like, the first thing I think is: where the hell are their parents? But then again, this is what I call a plot device. What interests me about this is that until the last para, I would have though this a fairly conventional thriller of some sort, with the focus on the kids interesting me most of all. But it’s the last para that brings the idea of a deeper sort of thriller, one that does indeed explore timely topics for kids this age. Timely. I think that might be my magic word in a blurb.

Such a perfect wife

Must be blonde, beautiful, and a good Catholic girl…

On a sunny morning in late September, Shannon Blaine, a blonde, green-eyed 34-year old wife and mother of two, sets off on a jog along the rural roads near her home in Lake George, New York.  It’s her usual a.m. routine, her “me time” after dropping the kids off at school…except on this day she never returns. The residents in the idyllic lakeside town—which is popular with summer tourists—are stunned. Would Shannon have just taken off, overwhelmed with the pressures of being the perfect wife and mother? Did a stranger snatch her? Or could her husband be responsible for her disappearance?

The hot new online magazine Crime Beat wants to cover the case and they hand the assignment to noted true crime writer Bailey Weggins. It doesn’t take long for Bailey to see that the story has fars more facets than she initially realized:  a bitter sister, an unfaithful brother-in-law, an evasive deacon, and a creepy motel owner who watched Shannon run every morning. When an anonymous caller reaches out to Bailey and gives her the cryptic clue that Shannon was a “good Catholic girl,” the tip eventually leads Bailey to the grisly discovery of Shannon’s body. And suddenly, based on what else Bailey finds, everything about the case shifts, suggesting that Shannon’s murder isn’t an isolated incident but rather the work of a serial killer with a very specific calling card. Bailey sets out to expose the killer before another woman has to die, including herself.

I am a sucker for a new media/online magazine/true crime angle into a thriller (or any story really). When I started reading the blurb, I thought perhaps this was about Shannon and finding her killer, but somehow all this turns into a search for a serial killer? Colour me intrigued!

Little Lovely Things

A mother’s chance decision leads to a twist of fate that is every parent’s worst nightmare.

Claire Rawlings, mother of two and medical resident, will not let the troubling signs of an allergic reaction prevent her from making it in for rounds. But when Claire’s symptoms overpower her while she’s driving into work, her two children in tow, she must pull over. Moments later she wakes up on the floor of a gas station bathroom-her car, and her precious girls have vanished.

The police have no leads and the weight of guilt presses down on Claire as each hour passes with no trace of her girls. All she has to hold on to are her strained marriage, a potentially unreliable witness who emerges days later, and the desperate but unquenchable belief that her daughters are out there somewhere.

Little Lovely Things is the story of a family shattered by an unthinkable tragedy. Played out in multiple narrative voices, the novel explores how the lives of those affected fatefully intersect, and highlights the potential catastrophe of the small decisions we make every day.

At first glance, this seemed to be about the search for Claire’s kids, but then the last para happened, and I am honestly torn about this one — on the one hand I think that para promises a glorious, intense read BUT on the other hand, it also sounds like a theme for more literary fiction, and one that doesn’t involve missing kids. There’s a disconnect happening somewhere, that I can’t place my finger on. What do you think? Am I reading too much into this?

Come and Get Me

An intrepid journalist confronts a small town’s dark secrets in Come and Get Me, a breakneck thriller for fans of Tess Gerritsen and Julia Keller.

At Indiana University, someone’s been studying the female student body: their dating customs, nocturnal activities―and how long they can survive in captivity.

When award-winning journalist Caitlin Bergman is invited back to campus to receive an honorary degree, she finds an opportunity for a well-earned victory lap―and a chance to face the trauma that almost destroyed her as an undergrad. But her lap becomes an all-out race when a student begs her to probe an unsolved campus disappearance: Angela Chapman went out one Friday night and never came back.

To find the missing woman, Caitlin must join forces with a local police detective and the department that botched her own case so long ago. But while Caitlin follows the clues behind Angela’s disappearance, someone else is following her…

Unearthing secrets hidden beneath an idyllic Midwestern college town, Caitlin must expose what really happened to Angela―before she herself becomes the newest addition to a twisted collection.

I think that this blurb promises a somewhat conventional thriller, but I still find myself intrigued because of Caitlin: what happened to her years ago? What happened to her case? it’s powerful motivation set in an idyllic town, which right there promises confrontation and angst because idyllic might be in the blurb, but I see a town that wants to protect their image and Caitlin who wants to bust that wide open.

That’s all for this week!

9 Comments

  • Nasreen says:

    Thanks for this review. I like the sound of this.

  • I haven’t seen Captain Marvel. We rarely go to the theater as I would rather watch at home on my couch with my pups. I’ve only heard good things though. I want to see “Us” really badly. That movie looks so freaky. I think I have The Mother-in-Law on my wishlist already. If not, it’s going on. Have a wonderful week!

    • Verushka says:

      OMG. Barb, the trailer for US freaks me the eff out. I just cannot imagine sitting through it. You’re going to have to review if you do watch!

  • Jen Mullen says:

    I’d almost rather read your comments than the blurbs themselves. In fact, sometimes I start with your comments before reading the blurbs. 🙂

  • Ethan says:

    I hope to see it this weekend! You’ve got some good thriller suggestions this week.

  • Lark says:

    I totally want to read Before She Was Found!

  • Angela says:

    I enjoyed Captain Marvel, but I need Endgame like NOW, I can’t wait! The Mother-in-Law is on my TBR, I definitely want to know more about that relationship!

  • I’m so glad to hear Captain Marvel was good! I can’t wait to see it. I usually wait a few weeks for the crowds to die down a bit so we might go this weekend.

    Love your list of book recs too. I have The Mother-in-Law coming up soon on my reading list. It sounds like it’s going to be a pretty twisty domestic drama and yes, I get an ominous vibe from the title as well, even though I have a pretty good relationship with my own mom-in-law, lol.

  • These are books I would enjoy. I was going to wait for Captain Marvel to come to cable, but I am thinking we should go experience it in the theater. Everyone is loving it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.