#5Books: Books recs and Happy Easter!

#5Books for the week ending 1 april

Happy Easter everyone! I hope you’ve all had a wonderful and safe one wherever you are!

I had a quiet Easter before heading to the Easter show with my nephews. It was hot, which sapped everyone’s energy but the little guys held up well. The Easter Show is focused on all things agricultural, and is a way to highlight rural communities and what they do to city folk.

There are cattle, pig and goat and sheep pavilions, with each devoted to those animals, to shearing and giving kids a chance to these animals up close. We got to the pig and goat, and sheep pavilions and the chicken one, lest I forget. The little guys were either scared or astonished depending on how big the animals they were viewing!

In about four hours, we managed like one section, so we didn’t even thinking about going elsewhere. That just wasn’t happening lol

We headed home and soon after all collapsed into bed not even feeling the daylight savings change like we usually do. It was a good day overall!

The Nowhere Child 

‘Her name is Sammy Went. This photo was taken on her second birthday. Three days later she was gone.’

On a break between teaching photography classes, Kim Leamy is approached by a stranger investigating the disappearance of a little girl from her Kentucky home twenty-eight years earlier. He believes she is that girl.

At first Kim brushes it off, but when she scratches the surface of her family background in Australia, questions arise that aren’t easily answered. To find the truth, she must travel to Sammy’s home of Manson, Kentucky, and into a dark past. As the mystery unravels and the town’s secrets are revealed, this superb novel builds towards a tense, terrifying, and entirely unexpected climax.

Inspired by Gillian Flynn’s frenetic suspense and Stephen King’s masterful world-building, The Nowhere Child is a combustible tale of trauma, cult, conspiracy and memory. It is the remarkable debut of Christian White, an exhilarating new Australian talent attracting worldwide attention.

Australian author, and I can do without ever seeing anything to do with Gone Girl comparisons, but I will admit in connection with Stephen King Piqued my interest. Also — missing identity, kidnapped story, and an Australian author — total winners for me.

Something in the water

A shocking discovery on a honeymoon in paradise changes the lives of a picture-perfect couple in this taut psychological thriller debut—for readers of Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, and Shari Lapena.

Erin and Mark seem to have it all: he’s a successful banker, she’s a documentary filmmaker on the brink of a professional breakthrough; they’re young and in love, about to embark on their dream honeymoon to Bora Bora. But when, after a blissful day of scuba diving, they discover a mysterious bag filled with incalculable riches, their subsequent choices trigger a sequence of events that will change their lives—and their marriage—forever.

Whenever something is described as picture perfect, you just know the author is going to tear it down and leave you a wreck by the end right?

Remember Tokyo

In Tokyo, Charlie Hillier discovers you can’t always bank on the truth.

Fresh off a harrowing experience in Russia, Charlie is keen to lay low, and his latest posting to Tokyo offers him the chance to immerse himself in a truly foreign culture.

Charlie is soon drawn into his first consular case when a successful young investment banker winds up in a coma following a car accident. After a man claiming to be friend of the banker’s turns up dead, Charlie and the Tokyo Metropolitan Police inspector assigned to investigate the murder, Chikako Kobayashi, discover that trusting the banker — who emerges from his coma with amnesia — may be a dangerous decision.

Granted the third in a series, but given the Canadian consular angle, I am so curious about this. Not a setting I would have thought of, but it’s one of the more unusual I’ve found.

Everyone Knows You go Home

From the acclaimed author of Chasing the Sun comes a new novel about immigration and the depths to which one Mexican American family will go for forgiveness and redemption.

The first time Isabel meets her father-in-law, Omar, he’s already dead—an apparition appearing uninvited on her wedding day. Her husband, Martin, still unforgiving for having been abandoned by his father years ago, confesses that he never knew the old man had died. So Omar asks Isabel for the impossible: persuade Omar’s family—especially his wife, Elda—to let him redeem himself.

Isabel and Martin settle into married life in a Texas border town, and Omar returns each year on the celebratory Day of the Dead. Every year Isabel listens, but to the aggrieved Martin and Elda, Omar’s spirit remains invisible. Through his visits, Isabel gains insight into not just the truth about his disappearance and her husband’s childhood but also the ways grief can eat away at love. When Martin’s teenage nephew crosses the Mexican border and takes refuge in Isabel and Martin’s home, questions about past and future homes, borders, and belonging arise that may finally lead to forgiveness—and alter all their lives forever.

There’s nothing psychic about Isabel as far as the blurb says, so that she sees Omar is strange to say the least — but that said, these are powerful themes, and a strange and unusual method of resolution to say the least.

Hope Never Dies

For everyone nostalgic for the Obama/Biden administration, Hope Never Dies re-casts the president and vice-president as amateur sleuths in a quirky mystery-adventure.

Vice President Joe Biden is fresh out of the Obama White House and feeling adrift when his favorite railroad conductor dies in a suspicious accident, leaving behind an ailing wife and a trail of clues. To unravel the mystery, “Amtrak Joe” re-teams with the only man he’s ever fully trusted—the 44th president of the United States. Together they’ll plumb the darkest corners of Delaware, traveling from cheap motels to biker bars and beyond, as they uncover the sinister forces advancing America’s opioid epidemic.

Part noir thriller and part bromance novel, Hope Never Dies is essentially the first published work of Obama/Biden fanfiction—and a cathartic read for anyone distressed by the current state of affairs.

Yeah, I couldn’t resist!

 

23 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.