Waiting on Wednesday: A simple favor

Can't wait Wednesday- What are book bloggers looking forward to reading next-

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme usually held over on Breaking the Spine. Every week bloggers highlight the new releases they have their eye on. This week my pic is: A Simple Favor

a-simple-favour

I am a little bit torn because it reminds me a little too much of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, and comparisons like that annoy me endlessly. Read the longest blurb ever and then I’ll say why I am waiting:

Blurb: 

She’s your best friend.
She knows all your secrets.
That’s why she’s so dangerous.
A single mother’s life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

It starts with a simple favor—an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together—just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time.

But Emily doesn’t come back. She doesn’t answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong—Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily’s husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It’s the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over.

Or is it? Because soon, Stephanie will begin to see that nothing—not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor—is as simple as it seems.

A Simple Favor is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense—a clever and twisting free-fall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final page.

Why is the nightmare not over? Why is Emily’s death not the end? I NEED to know this. Also, it’s been developed as a movie, so I am hopeful. There’s got to be something good in here right? (well no, but I’m ever the optimist)

What are you waiting on this week?

9 Comments

  • Greg says:

    There sure are a lot of thrillers in the vein of Gone Girl and Girl on the Train, aren’t there? lol. But I do think this one sounds good- I want to know what happens too! I love psychological thrillers, I hope this one is good! 🙂

    • Verushka says:

      There are, and I wish desperately publishers would stop relying on that to sell books, boo! I do hope this is good too — I think it maybe is more domestic noir than anything? And yes, that’s a genre too.

  • Silvia says:

    Personally, I think psychological thrillers are fascinating reads and I actually think this one sounds good. Hope it works great for you 🙂

    Here’s my WoW!

  • Suzanne says:

    I think it sounds like it has the potential to be a better read than Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. The storyline itself sounds great, but for me it would depend on how likable the main characters end up being since I didn’t like anyone in thlose other two books, haha.

  • Angela says:

    This sounds really intense! I love a good mystery!

  • Sounds like a decent read but like you, I’m so sick of book comparisons. And to be honest, I didn’t really like “Gone Girl” so that comparison tends to turn me off of books – haha. I still need to read “Girl on a Train” and have better hopes for it. I did buy it a few weeks ago so I’m that much closer to reading it. I’ll be looking for your review of this one 🙂

  • AngelErin says:

    Well this does sound a lot like Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. While I’m sick of this comparison I love books like that and this one sounds fantastic!

  • I have this for review and I’m really hoping it’s good.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.