Waiting on Wednesday: Eliza and her Monsters

Waiting on Wednesday- What are book bloggers looking forward to reading next-

Waiting on Wednesday is a gorgeous book meme held over at Breaking the Spine and Can’t Wait Wednesday is another meme celebrating the same thing: Books bloggers are looking forward to. This week my pick is: Eliza and her Monsters because it celebrates fandom and the relationships that come from them, but more than that? It’s touching and filled with wonderful potential for people like Eliza.

Eliza and her monsters Waiting on Wednesday

Here’s the blurb:

In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, and friendless. Online, Eliza is LadyConstellation, anonymous creator of the wildly popular webcomic Monstrous Sea. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves her digital community, and has no desire to try.

Then Wallace Warland, Monstrous Sea’s biggest fanfiction writer, transfers to her school. Wallace thinks Eliza is just another fan, and Eliza begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile. But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built—her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity—begins to fall apart.

With illustrations from Eliza’s webcomic, as well as screenshots from Eliza’s online forums and snippets of Wallace’s fanfiction, this uniquely formatted book will appeal to fans of Noelle Stevenson’s Nimona and Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl.

I couldn’t resist this because I’ve been there, exactly where Eliza has been. And going online opened up everything to me, including some of the dearest friendships I’ve ever had. So this, speaks to me and I’d hope the other young kids out there.

I think this will also take on mental illness, which is a plus and the format sounds like it’s not going to be your run-of-the-mill story at all. So yes, totally on my radar.

12 Comments

  • Kelly says:

    Oh my goodness Verushka, this sounds absolutely wonderful! I love books that use different forms of media to tell a narration and I can see where the online aspect would really work. That cover is super cute too. Will definitely be on the look out for this one. Thanks for sharing sweetheart and putting this on my radar <3 <3

    • Verushka says:

      <3 And yeah, the different media really caught my eye, along with the fanfiction focus. I love it when that especially, and the world online is treated respectfully, like it means something, you know.

  • I’m very interested to see how the illustrations work into this book. I saw the cover the other day and am very intrigued. I’ve been on a horror/thriller/mystery kick lately so I need to change up the pace some. I read a great book earlier this week – “The Night the Lights Went Out” and my review should go up next week. I think you would like it – it’s women’s fiction with some mystery thrown in.

  • This cover is so neat! I remember seeing it on Edelweiss (it’s available for request!). This isn’t really my type of read but I hope you enjoy this book when you get the chance to read it!

    Have a fabulous week, Verushka. =)

    Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

  • Oh wow, this sounds incredible! Not the sort of book I’d reach for normally, but I’m more than a little intrigued by the synopsis. And that cover artwork is great, too!

  • Yes this one is very much on my radar too!!

  • Maria Behar says:

    OMG, Verushka, what a TOTALLY AWESOME pick!!!! YAAAAAAASS!! I want this one, too, just from seeing it here! I had never heard of it before, either, but just reading the synopsis, I thought, “Oh, DEFINITELY! How COOOOOL is this?” Lol.

    I quickly went over to Goodreads and added it!! And, in the process, I found out they’re having a giveaway for this book. Of course, I promptly entered it!! So thanks for posting about this book today!!!! <3 : )

    Also, thanks for stopping by and commenting on my "Can't Wait Wednesday" post!! You ROCK, girl!! <3 <3 <3 : ) : )
    : )

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *