Beautiful Covers: Riverkeep

Beautiful Cover: Riverkeep by Martin Stewart

Carla, over at The Enchanted Forest, posted this book for a Waiting on Wednesday meme entry about two weeks ago and I have not been able to get this cover out my head!  Isn’t it gorgeous? It’s the eye on the boat that might have caught me… and the textures. And all of it really.

Then there’s the blurb: 

A stunning debut perfect for fans of Patrick Ness and Neil Gaiman!

The Danék is a wild, treacherous river, and the Fobisher family has tended it for generations—clearing it of ice and weed, making sure boats can get through, and fishing corpses from its bleak depths. Wulliam’s father, the current Riverkeep, is proud of this work. Wull dreads it. And in one week, when he comes of age, he will have to take over.

Then the unthinkable happens. While recovering a drowned man, Wull’s father is pulled under—and when he emerges, he is no longer himself. A dark spirit possesses him, devouring him from the inside. In an instant, Wull is Riverkeep. And he must care for his father, too.

When he hears that a cure for his father lurks in the belly of a great sea-dwelling beast known as the mormorach, he embarks on an epic journey down the river that his family has so long protected—but never explored. Along the way, he faces death in any number of ways, meets people and creatures touched by magic and madness and alchemy, and finds courage he never knew he possessed.

Martin Stewart’s debut novel is an astonishing blend of the literary, the comedic, and the emotionally resonant. In a sentence, it’s The Wizard of Oz as told by Patrick Ness. It marks the beginning of a remarkable career.

Neil Gaiman, right? This sounds like a promising, tense journey and EPIC. Did I mention EPIC? Have you heard of this before? What do you think of the cover?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *